SCV Man and Woman of the Year

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Welcome to SCV Man and Woman of the Year




Dear Friends of the Santa Clarita Valley:


The 48th Annual Premier Volunteer Recognition Event, 2014 Santa Clarita Valley Man and Woman of the Year dinner, will be held at 6:00 p.m., on Friday, May 2, 2014 at the Hyatt Valencia.


The purpose of the Santa Clarita Valley Man and Woman of the Year Recognition is to honor men and women who have given outstanding volunteer service to the Santa Clarita Valley area.

  • Individual volunteer services must be given to a group or organization that is a designated 501(c)(3), community service organization.
  • Volunteer service is defined by long-time community commitment (not work related).
  • Volunteer service includes, but is not limited to, the years of volunteer service, the type of service, and the impact of the service that was provided to multiple local organizations.


The Committee, comprised of previous honorees, will select the Man and Woman of the Year from the nominees submitted.


  1. 1.You can nominate up to two (2) volunteers, one man and/or one woman.
  2. 2.The criteria used by the Committee are weighted as follows:
  • Volunteer effort (sweat equity) – 60 points
  • Years of service – 20 points
  • Number of 501(c)(3) organizations this individual has served – 10 points
  • Other (in-kind, financial, etc.) – 10 points

 The nomination form may be found on this website.


The Paparazzi Party will be held on Tuesday, March 4, 2014 to recognize and honor the nominees and their organizations. The nominees, their significant others, and the executive directors of the nominating organizations, will be invited. More information will follow.


Nomination applications are due by Wednesday, February 15, 2014, at 5:00 p.m. All nominations will be acknowledged. We look forward to your participation.




Steve Sturgeon                       Elizabeth Hopp


Steve Sturgeon                                  Elizabeth Hopp

2013 Man of the Year                            2013 Woman of the Year 

Past Recipients:


1967   A.B. Perkins

1968   William Bonelli, Jr.

1969   Bill Kohlmeier

1970   Chuck Hendrickson

1971   Ed Bolden & Olive Ruby

1972   Bill Millsap & Bobbie Trueblood Davis

1973   Rev. Sam Dixon & Jerreann Bowman

1974   Judge C.M. MacDougal & Flo Chesebrough

1975   Rene Veluzat & Connie Worden Roberts

1976   Dick Millar & Joyce Wayman

1977   Steve Hall & Sara Faye Wood

1978   Dan Hon & Juanita Heinley

1979   John Fuller & Anne Lynch

1980   Judge Adrian Adams & Betty Pember

1981   Fred Trueblood, III & Margret Schulte




1983 Sam Garcia   & Barbara Stearns Cochran

1984 Milt   Diamond & Jo Anne Darcy

1985 Tony   Newhall & Carmen Sarro

1986 Larry   Margolis & Mary Spring

1987 Frank   Lorelli & Ruth Newhall

1988 Tom Veloz   & Betty Castleberry

1989 Dick   Keysor & Jami Kennedy

1990 Lou Garasi   & Rita Garasi

1991 Jack Boyer   & Ruth Clark

1992 Clyde   Smyth & Catherine Clark

1993 Stan   Sierad & Betty Burke Oldfield

1994 Alan Barbakow   & Pat Allen

1995 Sheldon   Allen & Laurene Weste-McCarthy

1996 Chuck   Clark & Charlotte Kleeman

1997 George   Pederson & Pat Warford




1998 Bob Kellar   & Roberta Veloz

1999 John   Hoskinson & Pat Willett

2000 Tom Lee   & Betty Seldner

2001 Steve   Schmidt & Joyce Carson

2002 Frank   Kleeman & Adele Macpherson

2003 Duane   Harte & Linda Pedersen

2004 Don   Fleming & Cheri Fleming

2005 Gary E.   Condie & Jeri Seratti-Goldman

2006 Michael   Berger & Diana Cusumano

2007 Greg   Nutter & Jeanna Crawford

2008 Carl   Goldman & Judy Penman

2009 Greg   Amsler & Nancy Coulter

2010 Wayne   Crawford & Mary Ann Colf

2011 Harry Bell   & Candy Sphar

2012 Tom   Dierckman & Myrna Condie

2013 Steve Sturgeon & Elizabeth Hopp